I Am Who I Am (And Politics Is Just One Tiny Piece of the Puzzle)

In the last two days, I’ve been called a low-life for who I plan to vote for, and I was accused of “caving because that’s the norm for those of your mindset,” simply because after a long back and forth exchange, I told the man that I believed neither of us were going to convince the other, so we’d have to agree to disagree. To which he commented:

Jan Marler Morrill, knew you’d cave….. you have no credible accomplishments. But you see, i knew that. And knew exactly your response to that. That is the norm for humans of your mindset.

If you’ve read any of my recent blog posts (see links below), you already know who I plan to vote for and why. But for this post, who I plan to vote for is not important, because I see name-calling on both sides.

The amazing thing is, neither of these two name-callers knows anything about me–except that I’m not voting for who they think I should vote for.

So, I thought I’d list a few things about myself, to show that I’m more than the vote I’ll cast. Perhaps you’ll learn a few reasons why I can’t vote for Trump.

Name-callers will rarely read anything that doesn’t massage and stroke their ideas of what’s right and what’s wrong, so it may be moot for me to publish this post.

We’re all concerned about, maybe even afraid for, the state of our country. Lately, I lean toward afraid. But my fear is not related to the policies of either candidate or which judges they’ll choose. We have and will continue to survive that. Instead, my concerns revolve around what I see every day on social media–hatred surrounding our differences, whether racial, religious or political. There are many people–with very loud voices–who seem to believe we all have to be and think the same.

Donald Trump is fuel to that fire. That’s the biggest reason I can’t vote for him–I don’t care if he is a Republican.

In my list of puzzle pieces, I hope you’ll see:

  1. We have a lot of things in common.
  2. I’m more than a Republican and certainly, more than my vote.

We will never, ever all be the same–no matter how angry we get, no matter what names are called. And so, I’ll close with this quote–in case you don’t make it to the end of my list. 🙂

296313968-if-we-refuse-to-respect-our-differences-in-thought-form-2

  • I am the oldest of five children.
  • My mother was a Japanese-American Buddhist Democrat. My father is a red-headed Southern Baptist Republican. As you might imagine, there was a lot of conflict surrounding this diversity during my childhood, but I’m grateful for the open mind it gave me.
  • I wrote  The Red Kimono, a historical fiction based on certain events in my mother’s life–most importantly, her internment as a Japanese American during World War II. I’ve also written three other books: Life: Haiku by Haiku, Doll in the Red Kimono, (a collection of essays) and Creative Characterization (a writer’s workbook.)
  • The priorities in my life are Steve, my two grown children and my two little grandchildren. And there you have my “excuses” for why I still haven’t finished the sequel to The Red Kimono.
  • But I am going to participate in NaNoWriMo in November! 🙂 Except not on the sequel. 😦 (Are you?)
  • I love a good conversation with someone with whom my opinions differ.
  • Speaking of which, I’m blessed to have some of the best friends in the world–and our opinions differ on a variety of topics!
  • I am a Christian who often asks myself, “What would Jesus do?”
  • I’ve been a waitress, a telephone operator, a supervisor, an author, a manager and even a vice president. But the best job in the world is the one I have right now–Grandma.
  • I love my country, and though I think there are things that need to be fixed (ie, Obamacare) I don’t think it’s the awful, dark place that is being portrayed on one side.
  • What do I love? Our diversity, our freedom to think independently, the checks and balances of our government.
  • What do I dislike? The divisiveness, polarization and refusal to compromise that has brought our government to a standstill.
  • I have a degree in Business Administration, but often wish I would have pursued a degree in something I’m more passionate about–like art, history or writing.
  • I am an artist.
  • I’ve been in relationships with narcissists.
  • The biggest regret of my life is being afraid to say what needed to be said to a friend.
  • I’ve committed many sins in my life, therefore can’t judge anyone for theirs. My decision on who not to vote for has nothing to do with past sins.
  • I’m a news addict and a politics junkie.
  • My pet peeves are: hypocritical finger-pointing, name-calling, refusal to admit wrongdoing, changing plans at the last minute, lack of responsibility.
  • I’m in dire need of a manicure.
  • My favorite food indulgence is a chocolate milkshake. My least favorite is licorice.
  • I love to travel and have been fortunate to visit many countries on many continents. I’ve yet to make it to Antarctica, Australia and Africa. Maybe someday!
  • I love to go to the movies.
  • I need to exercise more.
  • There are rarely enough hours in my day.
  • My greatest weakness? My lack of willpower and discipline.
  • But on a positive note, what’s my greatest strength? My ability to “let it go.”

11169826_10204893995243315_7550807460149332014_n

If you’d like to read more:

Politics and Relationships: How to Love a Liberal

Principles Over Party

The Logical Reasons Behind My Emotional Vote

Disagreement

This entry was posted in politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Am Who I Am (And Politics Is Just One Tiny Piece of the Puzzle)

  1. Linda Apple says:

    Heeeeeeyyyyy what about me and Ruthie???? What are we? Chopped liver? 😊 ALL KIDDING ASIDE, excellent article and well put. I want to add you ARE SO MUCH MORE than even the things you listed! I love and respect you!

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Big “oops,” Linda. Though I will say, my mind was flooding with things I wanted to list–my fingers just couldn’t keep up. But I’ve added the blessing of our friendship now! 🙂

  2. Steve says:

    Walt Whitman says… I ask not good-fortune, I myself am good-fortune,
    you are good fortune my dear, more than words can describe, more than anyone can ever know, more than what you write, more than what you say, more than what you’ve done and will do.

  3. Not sure where my comment went but I know it started with “Hey, you two, get a room.” 🙂 You already know how I feel about the rhetoric that’s so prevalent right now. When name-calling and insults masquerade as discussion, we have problems. Newspapers print all opinions and call them news. Media covers up and slants. Candidates attack one another, rather than talk about policies. Pretty depressing stuff!

    I’m sorry you were subjected to these types of comments and even though I know you’ll be fine, I know it hurts. I have a friend online whose friends allow no other opinions without usually nasty attacks on the person. Not much fun.

    You might enjoy this post I did a few days ago. I don’t usually share any of my post links on other people’s posts, but I think you’ll see why if you read it. It’s related to your post: https://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2016/10/18/gifts-of-the-seven-grandfathers/.

    janet

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Thanks for trying again to comment, Janet. 🙂 It doesn’t really hurt when someone I don’t know says something like this, because I know they don’t even know me. What does hurt is when someone who does know me can say something hurtful, just because we disagree.

      I appreciate your sharing your important post, too, and encourage others to click on Janet’s link to read about the Seven Gifts.

  4. Howard High says:

    Steve is one lucky man! You are one awesome lady, Jan!

Leave a Reply

