A Mockery of Voters

Yesterday, I received a “letter” from Donald J. Trump.

trump4

Who I elect as our next President will be a choice between the lesser of two evils–in other words, I must decide whether Hillary or Trump will destroy this country faster and vote for the other.

So, I opened the envelope and read its contents, thinking there was a chance, however small, that I might find something to help me in the above decision. I hoped to read about Mr. Trump’s platform, details about his policies and his plans to implement them.

I didn’t.

Instead, I read his diatribe against President Obama, Hillary Clinton and the media.

But wait! He enclosed a survey. Perhaps it would, at least, give me an opinion to offer my thoughts on where we should head as a country.

It didn’t.

trump3

If Trump’s list of biased, dogmatic, ridiculously leading questions hadn’t made such a mockery of voters, I might have laughed. Why should anyone waste time answering these leading questions? It’d be a whole lot easier to just mark the box with the best photo.

trump2

Me? I’m returning the survey, sans contribution, with the following note attached:

trump5

Before anyone gets upset or defensive about my criticism of Trump’s “survey,” I’m perfectly willing to consider Hillary’s is no better and would love to see examples.

Which sadly, doesn’t help voters like me with our very difficult decision.

This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Mockery of Voters

  1. The decision is beyond difficult. It is hopeless.

  2. I’m in the same boat which is, I think, an ocean liner!

    janet

  3. So many of us are in that same sinking ocean liner

  4. Shirley Lowry says:

    I keep praying for a third person to appear.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Shirley, I’ve been watching Gary Johnson, I just don’t yet have enough confidence in his experience. I hope the networks give him more publicity and the opportunity to participate in debates.

  5. rgayer55 says:

    I have always considered myself an Independent, but this time it’s a no brainer. Trump spews forth nothing but hate and fear. He offers no real solutions, and in my opinion, has no clue what the issues are. Hillary is certainly not lily-white, but name one professional politician who is.

    I have a lot of Republican friends who have spent the past 16 years bashing Hillary and Democrats in general. The right wing media (especially talk radio hosts) have made a handsome living by having someone to criticize and throw under the bus. Yet, collectively, the GOP has been a group of non-action. If you don’t like something, propose something better. They’ve got control of the house and senate, yet they do nothing.

    I was in hopes they would come forth with a viable candidate who would appeal to Independents and have some common sense ideas, and a positive plan to move the country forward. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen.

    People can say what they want about the economy, but personally, I’m better off today than I was eight years ago and so are my two adult children and there families. We have no desire to go backward.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Russell, I can’t tell you how similar our thoughts are, from Trump, to Hillary, to the ineffectiveness of the GOP. A big disappointment to me. I have no desire to go backward either, and I strongly believe Trump will not only take our country, but our civilization backward. He’s already done so as far as I’m concerned.

  6. Pingback: Politics and Relationships: How to Love a Liberal | Jan Morrill Writes

Leave a Reply

