Leader of the Band

Friday Fictioneers is a compilation of writers from around the world who gather online weekly, guided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. The challenge? To write a story in 100 words or less based on a new photo prompt.

Click HERE for an online flash fiction anthology by the Friday Fictioneers!

Photo courtesy Sandra Cook

It didn’t occur to me until reading Rochelle’s comment that some may not “see” what I “saw” in Sandra’s photo, which goes to prove we all see things differently. For reasons I hope you’ll understand after reading my story, I “saw” a drum major’s mace. Here’s what a “real” mace looks like:

 

Leader of the Band

I stood at attention in the middle of the football field. Was it the wintry air or my fear of Mr. Lindsay and his dreaded megaphone that kept me frozen in place? After all, I’d been the victim of that evil bullhorn once and that was enough. Never again would I “left face” when I should have “right faced.”

Nothing like that feeling.

At last, the drum major raised his mace against the gray sky. His shrill whistle pierced the frigid air, and snare drums rolled as two hundred musicians moved forward, left foot first.

Nothing like that feeling.

THE END

AUTHOR NOTE:  This little story is dedicated to Mr. Lindsay and the Armijo Superband. True, there were times he instilled fear in all of us with that megaphone of his, but he remains to this day, one of my favorite teachers. 🙂

Steve’s Story

Transmission

Beneath this streetlight, three weeks after his wife died, her ashes tucked under his elbow, he headed to the river where she had asked he spread them and received her first “transmission.”

Bumped as he crossed the street, the bronze urn fell and spilled out.

He dropped to his hands and knees, horrified, and furiously he scraped up her ashes. People walked past, car horns blared, drops of rain fell.

He wept, cried out,  ”I’m sorry.”

Then, he received it.  First, it came physically, a warm, ineffable, white rapture, filled with kindness, overtook his body.

Then, her voice. “You’re forgiven.”

This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, nostalgia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Leader of the Band

  1. Moon says:

    The memories remain.
    A great tribute to your favourite teacher, Jan.

    Like

  2. Dear Jan,

    I wasn’t sure of the link to the prompt with this one. My guess is that it reminded you of a baton? No matter. I felt the cold, heard the music and cheered for your favorite teacher. I’m blessed to have a few of those. 😉 Well done, my friend.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • Jan Vanek says:

      Thanks for making me aware that others may not understand how my story relates to the photo. 🙂 I added an explanation, which, perhaps I shouldn’t have to do. Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nah. I was just making a comment. Only on rare occasions do I explain my story’s relation to the prompt. (And I’m often asked.) It’s a wonderful story, Jan. As long as you post the prompt, it’s all good. 😉 It’s always fun to see where a prompt will take someone. I love it that this one has taken us in all directions. Most weeks I can predict with 85% accuracy, where most will go. It delights me when I can’t. 😀

        Like

  3. I enjoyed reading your story. I love that this photo prompt has thrown up so many different interpretations.

    Susan A Eames at
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

    Like

  4. Our favorite teachers somehow follow us through our lives and I think that is the best kind of legacy. Beautiful story, indeed.

    Like

  5. I’m delighted you saw something different in the picture, I am almost blinded by all the light I’ve come across reading other contributions this week! Being in such a band must have been an amazing experience. If only….!

    Click to read my FriFic!

    Like

  6. granonine says:

    Hoo boy. I was right there with you!

    Like

  7. rgayer55R says:

    Great rememberance moment. I had a few teachers who’s wrath I feared as well, and like you, many of those remain my favorites. THEY CARED and they MADE A DIFFERENCE in our lives.

    Enjoyed Steve’s story too. I could feel angst, and the relief of forgiveness.

    Like

  8. Iain Kelly says:

    That’s the sort of leadership it takes to get something like that right. Nicely done.

    Like

  9. pennygadd51 says:

    You’ve written a story that conveys well the mixed emotions inspired in you, both by your teacher and by the experience of participating in a marching band. I particularly admire the repetition of ‘Nothing like that feeling,’ with such different emotional overtones on the two occasions. Very, very good writing indeed.

    Like

  10. Liz Young says:

    For me the explanation was unnecessary! A lovely tribute to your teacher.

    Like

  11. Love what you saw in the image… after all I saw a chalice… that’s the fun of it. Loved the forgiveness in that other story.

    Like

Join the conversation!