Amazon Reviews: A Post for My “Non-Writer” Readers

The Red Kimono jpeg

What do I mean by the title of this blog post about Amazon reviews? Most of my writer friends already know the impact of Amazon reviews on the sales and exposure of their books. However, I’m not sure how many non-writing readers know this.

I really, really, really don’t like to ask for favors. I’m sure you will see me walking on glass throughout this post, trying to avoid begging suggesting asking for reviews for The Red Kimono. So, I’ve decided to tiptoe around the stinging shards by informing rather than begging beseeching. But, if begging peeks its ugly head, forgive me. Then appease me, pretty please.

I am thrilled to have three 5-star reviews on Amazon for The Red Kimono. Thank you, thank you, thank you to three of my most favorite people in the world.  (You, too, can be a favorite person in my world by leaving a review.) In fact, it feels rather greedy to ask for more.

But here’s the deal. Nobody knows the top secret algorithmic formula Amazon uses to promote books. (Well, obviously somebody knows the formula, but certainly nobody in my world.) But, what we do know is, lots of reviews do help both promotion and therefore, sales rankings.

Here’s what Joanna Penn of the popular blog, The Creative Penn, says in her post “How Amazon Recommendation Alogrithms Help Sell Your Book“:

  • Rankings get you noticed.
  • Ratings and reviews make a difference.

I’ve seen many kudos for The Red Kimono on Facebook, and several people have told me about how they enjoyed the book, couldn’t put it down. I smile politely on the outside, but inside, I am absolutely giddy as I do imaginary somersaults. Then, a little voice inside my head has the following conversation with itself:

“Go ahead. Ask if they’ll put a review on Amazon.”

“No, I couldn’t possibly. If they like it enough, they’ll write a review without my asking.”

“Jan, just ASK.”

“No, I don’t want to.”

“Jan, they’re getting away. ASK!”

“No. It’s okay. It won’t mean as much if I have to ask. Someday, someone will write another review.”

“Chicken shit.”

So, my outside self has decided to compromise with my little voice, and ask through an (hopefully) informative blog post. Here goes. (Ouch! Ouch! Dang glass is awfully sharp!)

If you have read The Red Kimono, first of all:

Thank you!!

If The Red Kimono moved you in any way–good or bad–I would be most grateful if you would leave a review on Amazon. I’m not asking for 5-star reviews, though of course, that would move you up in my rankings of My Favorite People in the World. But what I’m most interested in is your thoughts on the book.

If you’ve never left an Amazon review before. Click here for Amazon’s General Review Creation Guidelines.

If you’re ready to leave a review, here’s the link to begin:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Red-Kimono-A-Novel/dp/1557289948/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363355103&sr=8-1&keywords=the+red+kimono

If, for any reason, you’re not able to leave an Amazon review, I’d still love to hear from you about your thoughts on The Red Kimono. Feel free to either leave a comment below, or contact me here.

Thank you very much!

This entry was posted in Advice to Writers, Amazon, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the conversation!