Month of Thanks Giving: Day 4 (Sleep…and Coffee)

Once again, my Gratitude of the Day was prompted by something a friend–this time, Meg Welch Dendler, (who, by the way, has a new book out and you can read my interview with her HERE!)–posted this picture and comment on Facebook:

sleep1

Yep. Scott puts his head on the pillow most every night while I’m still reading and the light is on and he is out in a minute or two. Just weird. I think it’s a guy thing. My dad slept while small raccoons ran wild in the house. Yes, he knew they were there.

So here’s what I’m grateful for today. I am just like Meg’s husband, Scott. When I go to bed, whether Steve is reading or watching the World Series, I can turn over, close my eyes, and be out in a minute. In fact, sometimes I don’t even make it to the turning over part.

In my comments to Meg’s post, I obviously had to disagree with the “I think it’s a guy-thing” part, though I did inherit this God-given talent from my dad. I still remember listening to him snore in front of the TV.

Some of my fondest memories are of family trips across country. After many hours and miles, my dad would roll down the car window. That was our first clue he was getting sleepy. Next, he’d shake his head every few minutes. Finally, he’d belt out a song like “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” and say, “Come on everyone, sing with me.”

Soon, all seven of us would (perhaps reluctantly at first) be singing in rounds as we moved “gently down the stream.”

sleep2

 

 

Like my dad, I can sleep any time, any where. In fact, one might call that a curse . . . like when I’m trying to watch a movie . . . or perk up in the morning.

 

 

 

But, therein lies my second Gratitude of the Day:

COFFEE!!

IMG_7421 (2)

 

 

This entry was posted in nostalgia, thankful, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Month of Thanks Giving: Day 4 (Sleep…and Coffee)

  1. megdendler says:

    Love it! And yes, Scott snores in front of the TV more than once a week too. Usually when some wine has been involved.

  2. Bill can sleep any time, anywhere. I’m a lie-r awake and thinker too often.

    janet

Leave a Reply

