Month of Thanks Giving: Day 3

Last night I had a dream about my mom. In real life, she was in bed and in pain for the last several months of her life, and this was the setting in my dream, too. We knew she wouldn’t be with us much longer, and so did she.

And so, as she did in real life during her last days, she smiled for us.

Though I woke up missing her, it brought to mind several things for which I’m grateful. I thought about saving a few of my “thankfulnesses” to use on days down the road…in case I can’t think of anything. But that’s silly.

So, here’s today’s gratitude list:

  1. I still have my dad. Losing my mom woke me to the emotional reality that life ends. Of course, logically, I knew that. People I love will not be with me forever.
  2. Seeing my mom in bed made me grateful I can get out of bed, even when I don’t want to–like this morning.
  3. I still see my mom’s smile–on my own face, on the faces of my siblings and children, and even on Tommy.
  4. In things like a smile, people I love will be with me forever.
calendar2

Thank you to my daughter-in-law, Emily, for this calendar, filled with smiles that make me smile. 🙂

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Life, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Month of Thanks Giving: Day 3

  1. Mustang.Koji says:

    What an uplifting example of being thankful!

  2. Jan, I think too that you must always be thankful that you had the type of mom you did: one that you love and respect and care to remember with love. That’s a true blessing!

    janet

Leave a Reply

