Coffee Contemplation #2

IMG_7421 (2)Usually, Steve prepares the coffee at night, and all I have to do in the morning is press the “on” button. (We’ve talked about making it even easier by getting a programmable coffee maker so that I don’t even have to press a button, and I can wake not only to the sound of “Silk” on my iPhone, but the aroma of freshly-brewed coffee wafting down the hallway.)

Most mornings, I haven’t given it a second thought as I press that button. But last night, Steve forgot! So, this morning, as I yawned and counted one spoonful of coffee grounds after another, I thought about how I often take things for granted.

And taking things for granted happens with simple things, like the ease of flipping a button on a coffee maker, with really big things, like not having my mom here to call anymore, and all kinds of things in between.

Today, I’m going to try to replace “taking for granted” with gratitude.

 

This entry was posted in Coffee Contemplation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffee Contemplation #2

  1. Gratitude can make all the difference, Jan. Attitude is key.

    janet

Leave a Reply

