In Celebration of My Siblings

IMG_5388 (2)

I didn’t even know there was such a thing as National Siblings Day, but thanks to my cousin’s post on Facebook, I now know that April 10 is, according to Wikipedia, a holiday recognized annually in some parts of the United States honoring the relationships of siblings.”

family

Of course I’ve always loved my three sisters and one brother. They’re my siblings. But I’ve never been so grateful for them as I have been in these last few months, following the deaths of our mother and uncle.

26. Christmas 1973

Like typical siblings, we’ve had our differences. When we were little, we yelled, screamed, pulled hair, kicked, bit, pinched, punched, called each other names, locked each other out of the house, tattled, and on and on. As adults, there have even been times we’ve been so angry at each other, we’ve disowned our siblingship. Well, for a little while.

dad and kids

But whenever needed, we all pull together. We support each other, stand behind each other, do what needs to be done to hold our family up. As I look back, we did so even in our childhood. We dealt with the stresses of growing up with humor, even if it was between the yelling, screaming, punching . . . well, you get the picture.

I count my siblings as one of the greatest blessings in my life.

P1000030 (2)

Happy Siblings Day, Cyndie, Kim, Tami and Chuck.

I love you all!

 

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Celebration of My Siblings

  1. rgayer55 says:

    What a nice post. I had no idea there was a sibling day either. I’ve always been envious of others who grew up with brothers and sisters in the house. My three brothers were 14 to 17 years older than me and had all moved out before I started 1st grade–and the nearest neighbor was 1/2 mile away. Growing up, I had to learn to entertain myself. This may have helped develop my imagination and led me to writing. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

