Something New: Day 4

For Day 4 of my brilliant idea, I am showing how stupid brave I am by posting a YouTube video of me singing to Tommy.

First, a little history about my singing voice. My own mother once told me I sounded terrible when I sang. No doubt, this is because she had the voice of an angel. I’d give anything to have a recording of when she’d sing If I Loved You when I was a little girl. I still remember her rehearsing it at home, before she performed it on stage. Here’s a YouTube video of Shirley Jones, who she sounded very much like:

My sister, Tami, a former Miss Oklahoma, got all of the voice talent in my siblings.

Then, talent skipped a generation, and my daughter, Andi got the beautiful voice, although unfortunately, I don’t have a video of her singing — yet.

So, you can see why I don’t even sing in the shower. I did sing to my children, before they were consciously aware of what sounded good and what didn’t. Funny thing is, between their dad and I singing You Are My Sunshine to them out of tune, they learned the song out of tune.

Oh, okay, and here’s a little secret. Ever since Andi sang this song by Andrea Bocelli and Celine Dion, sometimes, when I’m very brave and ALL BY MYSELF in my car, I’ll turn up Andrea Bocelli and sing with him. Between my being out of tune and trying to sing in a foreign language, if nothing else, it makes me laugh.

So, here I am, Grandma to Tommy, and he, fortunately for me, is still not consciously aware that his grandma can’t carry a tune. So, here’s my debut — my new thing for today — singing in public.

And here’s Tommy’s reaction afterwards:

WHAT I LEARNED: Love is deaf. I don’t care how someone sounds. Nothing makes me happier, brings more sense of comfort, than the sound of someone singing or humming, and frankly, the fact that they are singing out of tune, but singing anyway, just makes me happier.

blog-smile

 

THUMBS UP OR DOWN? I give my singing a thumbs down, but the experience, and what I’ve learned, a thumbs up.

WHAT’S UP FOR TOMORROW: Who knows?

Stay tuned!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Creativity Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Something New: Day 4

  1. Kudos to you, Jan!! I’m pretty sure Tommy was saying, “Encore, encore.” 🙂 Singing is good for you, even if you don’t have a voice like your sister’s (and how many of us do), so keep singing. Children love singing and we still remember songs that we sang to and with our girls…and so do they. Can’t wait to see what your next day brings, although I’ll be traveling over the next four days, so who knows when I’ll get to things? I’m struggling as is. I love the internet, but things come so fast and in such profusion, but things I want to read or see.

    janet

    • Jan Morrill says:

      I can’t wait to see what my next thing is either, Janet. 🙂 Sometimes it just comes to me. I agree, children love singing. As I said, I still like it when someone is singing. Safe travels to you!

  2. truthsbyruth says:

    Jan! OMG!!! This is wonderful!!! (yes I know I used up all my exclamation marks for the next two years) Tommy only cares about the love in your voice. Sing on!

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Haha! I like your exclamation marks, Ruthie. If I get up the nerve, I might do another video with a grown-up song. Who knows–maybe I’ll have a new career. Not.

  3. Mustang.Koji says:

    I don’t feel it was stupid or brave… It was WONDERFUL! And Tommy’s “Encore! Encore” was for you! Kawaii, Jan! And lovely writing, too!

  4. kat9090 says:

    Love it! (my daughter in law taught me that the louder we sing, the better we sound) Keep singing!

  5. Keli Wright says:

    He’s enthralled! And that is clearly a call for Encore! WTG, Grandma!

Leave a Reply

