Something New: Day 2

For Day 2 of my brilliant idea, I decided to do something easy after yesterday’s homemade pesto challenge.

I’ve noticed lately the wide variety of colors from which to choose at the nail salon. Fashion has expanded beyond the usual nudes (my favorite), pinks and reds to every hue of blue, orange, purple, even glitter–any color you could hope for.

But me? I’ve always stayed safe with a nude color on my fingernails and some shade of red on my toenails.

So, tonight, after being tempted for months to try a new color, I painted my toenails PURPLE! Has hell freezed over? Do you see pigs flying?

What do you think?

purple toes

It took a little getting used to, but it’s growing on me. It reminds me of the song, “Popsicle Toes” by Diana Krall and Michael Franks.

In honor of the World Cup in Brazil, here’s the “old” me, with red toenails, lying on the beach in Copacabana in Rio de Janeiro.

???????????

I realize you probably like the beach photo better than the carpet photo, but which color toenails do you like better? Red or purple?

WHAT I LEARNED: Not much to learn with trying a new color, except that I’d rather go to a salon than do it myself. I painted these ten little popsicles myself tonight because I didn’t want to pay $35 to have them done if all I was going to do was come home and take it off. But, I think I’ll leave it on for awhile before I go back to the salon and have oh, maybe a pink put on.

blog-smile

 

THUMBS UP OR DOWN? I’ll give this experience a thumbs up.

 

WHAT’S UP FOR TOMORROW: This will be my most daring yet. Hint? It’s been on my bucket list for some time. And…it’s going to take a lot of courage to admit I did it.

Stay tuned!

 

 

This entry was posted in Creativity Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Something New: Day 2

  1. Mustang.Koji says:

    Hmmm… So who took the photo of your purple popsicles… well, unless you have your feet on backwards. 🙂 But I like the red ones!

    You’re a fun writer!

  2. Fay Guinn says:

    You must be channeling your queen side. What is the name of this color? Looks like a periwinkle to me.

  3. Steve says:

    Lovely purple toes. Purple is royal, brave and deep, sometimes overwrought ( like purple prose), richly restrained, goes well with gold, is both cool and warm, coming and going, dignified and aloof, and secretive…Do your toes keep secrets Jan?

  4. Tricia Sanders says:

    Keep the purple. Very regal. Never be afraid to be daring. You only go around once.

  5. Love the purple! I, too, usually go with a red on my toes but you’ve inspired me to try a new, fun shade.

  6. I like them both, Jan. A change is always nice. I started doing my toenails last year sometime and like how it makes my feet look. Bill likes it, too. 🙂

    janet

Leave a Reply

