#MomSongs for Mother’s Day

I was perusing Twitter this morning, and saw that #MomSongs is trending.

Oh, what a neat idea! Everyone is listing songs their mothers used to sing when they were kids.

Wrong. And I feel old, after reading some of the tweets:

Delicious Evil โ€@RoadenSara
Up All Night Long (sadly it is not to get lucky anymore) #MomSongs @midnight

Q107 Toronto โ€@Q107Toronto
#MomSongs RT @mikev527: @Q107Toronto And for lyyyying she’s sending you on a stairway to your bedrooooom ! ๐Ÿ˜ข

Fuse TV โ€@fusetv
Hold On, We’re Going Home and You’re Definitely Grounded #MomSongs

Then, there were these funny tweets:

Kevin Flood โ€@FLOOKLYN
“Im singing in the rain , now get back inside thats how you get the flu” #MomSongs

FrancescoMarciuliano โ€@fmarciuliano
Blinded by the light/That you left turned on in every damn room in this house #MomSongs @midnight

FrancescoMarciuliano โ€@fmarciuliano
I ain’t got nothing but love eight days a week and yet you still couldn’t buy me one lousy card this Sunday #MomSongs @midnight

Vincent Colombo โ€@vcolombo
Here Comes the Son (Who I raised single-handedly but can’t even be bothered to call his own mother on her birthday) #MomSongs @midnight

Still, I’m sticking with my old-fashioned idea of a #MomSong, and that’s the one my mom (and my dad) used to sing to me when I was just a little girl:

Mom and Jan

“Que Sera, Sera”

When I was just a little girl
I asked my mother
What will I be
Will I be pretty
Will I be rich
Here’s what she said to me

Que sera, sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours to see
Que sera, sera
What will be, will be

When I grew up and fell in love
I asked my sweetheart
What lies ahead
Will we have rainbows
Day after day
Here’s what my sweetheart said

Que sera, sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours to see
Que sera, sera
What will be, will be

Now I have Children of my own
They ask their mother
What will I be
Will I be handsome
Will I be rich
I tell them tenderly

Que sera, sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future’s not ours to see
Que sera, sera
What will be, will be
Que Sera, Sera

I still sing that song, though I don’t remember the lyrics past the second stanza.

jan and kids

I sang it to my kids when they were growing up.

Jan and Tommy

Andย now I sing it to my grandson, Tommy.

I even sing it to myself sometimes, if I need a little comfort.

What will be, will be . . . it’s been a mantra in my life.

What is your #MomSong memory?

This entry was posted in nostalgia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #MomSongs for Mother’s Day

  1. Mustang.Koji says:

    You have a lot of your mom in you, Jan. ๐Ÿ™‚ Those were all precious photographs. The one of you holding Tommy is priceless. Made me smile. ๐Ÿ˜ธ

    I also remember that Doris Day song. It was a big hit for a long time!

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Thank you, Koji. Yes, I do have a lot of my mom in me. My mom had a beautiful singing voice — unfortunately, I didn’t get that talent. ๐Ÿ™‚ So, I’ll just have to be satisfied with listening to Doris Day.

  2. Mendy Knott says:

    My Mom sang that to me, too. She just loved it, and anything with Doris Day in it.

  3. Yes, my mom rarely sang, but when she did it was Que Sera! I had to sing that to my teen daughter last week to help get her past a sad spot in her life. Mom would also sing (and dearly loved) You Are My Sunshine – but don’t sing beyond the first verse!

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Linda, I’ve heard from several people that their mom’s sang both Que Sera and You Are My Sunshine. Funny, how though we’re all from different cultures and different parts of the country, those so many people’s favorites. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Happy Mother’s Day, Jan

    janet

  5. Pingback: Happy Mother Day Mom (and Dad) | Blog Write Photo Links Quotes Life Video Seo

Leave a Reply

