The Lusty Month of May

Okay, okay. I’ll admit it. I used the title of a song from one of my favorite movies, Camelot, as a brazen attempt to attract your attention. But, my post does have to do with May.

I love May for at least two reasons:

  1. Spring should be in full bloom by then, though with the winter we’ve had, one might have some doubts.spring
  2. The OWFI Conference!! I CAN count on that! This year’s conference will be held May 1-3 at the Embassy Suites in Oklahoma City.

owfilogo031014

Take a peek at the wide array of presenters at this year’s conference — including me!

Here’s a teaser for the three different workshops I’ll be presenting:

Characterization: Using Letters & Photos to Bring Characters to Life
Friday, May 2, 10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m.

Are you challenged with getting your characters to “talk” to you? I have a couple of successful methods I’ve used to “trick” my characters into telling me their stories. In this workshop we will:

  • Write a letter in our character’s point of view (To our character, from our characters or between two characters.)
  • Describe a photo or painting through our character’s eyes

# # #

Interviewing Your Characters
Friday, May 2, 1:30 p.m.- 2:30 p.m.

This is one of my most popular workshops. Would you like to know how to develop your characters and story line by “coaxing” them to tell you their secrets? In this session, I’ll demonstrate how you can do this through writing exercises and live interview. Time permitting, I may even put a character on the psychologist’s couch!

For a sample of what you might learn, read my blog post, “Happy Hour with Nobu.

# # #

Keeping History Alive Through Fiction
Saturday, May 3, 11:00 a.m.- 12:00 p.m.

Gardner HistoryThe books we read in history class taught us the events of history. In this workshop, I’ll talk about resources and we’ll do exercises to demonstrate how historical fiction or creative non-fiction can help a reader to absorb historical events by experiencing them through a character’s eyes.

# # #

So, lusty or not, as you can see, May is a wonderful time of year. Here’s a video that Heather Davis put together with photos from last year’s conference, just to give you a peek at how much fun we have.

And best of all, there’s an early bird discount, but register before March 15! Click here for the registration form!

See you there!

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Lusty Month of May

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    Reblogged this on Sisterhood of the Traveling Pen and commented:

    Hope to see you at the OWFI Conference, May 1-3 at the Embassy Suites in Oklahoma City. I’ll be presenting three workshops there!

  2. Mustang.Koji says:

    Jan, your face was all “niko-niko” on the OWFI conference link! I hope you’ll have a great time and re-energize yourself!

  3. rgayer55 says:

    Well, you were right. The word Lusty got my attention 🙂 Looks like its going to be a great conference.

Leave a Reply

