Tommy’s Twinkle

Adam and Emily with a twinkle in their eyes!

Adam and Emily–twinkles in their eyes!

When my daughter (Andrea) and son (Adam) were little children, their dad and I showed them pictures of ourselves, taken before they were born. We’d point out the flecks of light in our eyes, and explain that even before they arrived in our lives, they were twinkles in our eyes.

Seems like only yesterday.

Now, today, I am anticipating the birth of my first grandchild, a little boy named Thomas David. (Thomas, after Emily’s dad. David, after Adam’s dad.) One way or another, little Tommy will arrive by sometime Wednesday.

Tommy will arrive. That’s sounds almost magical, doesn’t it? One day, he’s not here. The next day, he is.

When Andrea (my first) was born, the doctor announced, “It’s a girl.” I remember the overwhelming sensation I had that all of a sudden, there was a new soul in the world. That one moment, there’d been six people in the room, and in an instant, there were seven.

And sometime, between now and Wednesday, it will happen again. This little boy who, for so long, has been a twinkle in many of our eyes, will arrive. And the world will be blessed with another little soul.

This entry was posted in Life, nostalgia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Tommy’s Twinkle

  1. Jo Ann Wardein says:

    That made me cry happy tears…so very excited for all of you! Prayers that all goes well! Congrats already!

  2. I am so looking forward to meeting this newest soul.

  3. keliwright says:

    Such a sweet image. So happy for you all! The birth of a child at its best is the culmination of joyful expectation. May your twinkles imbue him with light at his birth and may he always know that those twinkles in your eyes are for him.

  4. rgayer55 says:

    What a happy occasion. You will make a wonderful Grandma.

  5. Kirk Auston says:

    β€œThat one moment, there’d been six people in the room, and in an instant, there were seven.” That was good, even spectacular. The philosopher in me wants to debate the factual accuracy of it all; when does life begin, etc. The poet in me got it immediately, fully and completely. It’s the germ of something to write more about. Actually, I would be interested to see how you would paint that moment of realization. Leave out the afterbirth. That probably ruined the whole beautiful image for you. It shouldn’t. Take a bigger view.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      I’m glad the poet won over the philosopher in you this time, Kirk. I’m sure I will write more about it, too, which in all likelihood, will still keep me from getting back to my sequel. πŸ™‚

  6. erinleary says:

    Love this sentiment. My dad always used that expression and it brought back some very happy memories. Enjoy your new role!

  7. Beth Carter says:

    Aw, how beautiful and poignant. You brought tears to my eyes, too. I can’t wait to hear more from Grandma Jan and to see pictures of little Tommy.

  8. Mustang.Koji says:

    Lovely, lovely story, Jan and a very enlightening way to look at additions to a family….and don’t spoil him! πŸ™‚

  9. So wonderful to hear about your grandson in such a loving way. I wish you the best and know you will have it. I well remember the birth of our children, grandchildren, and now two greats added to the family. Wonderful reminder, Jan, of what the birth of a child is all about.

Leave a Reply

