#FlashFiction #Fictioneer: My Path

Howdy from the Silver Spur Ranch in Bandera, Texas! I’m here for The Wild Rose Press writers’ retreat with my friends of rhe Sisterhood of the Traveling Pen. But, I sure didn’t want to miss out on fun with the Fictioneers, so here’s my story.

This photo was taken in Mykonos, Greece, a place I hope to return to one day. I was attracted to this scene and snapped the picture because I saw it as a metaphor for life.

Click here to visit Madison Woods’ blog for links to other stories by the Fictioneers, an eclectic group of writers from around the world.

My path is long and

narrow, but there are doors to open

and blue skies above.

This entry was posted in fictioneers, Flash Fiction, Haiku, Madison Woods, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to #FlashFiction #Fictioneer: My Path

  1. Pingback: Friday Fiction – Cooling Off | elmowrites

  2. elmowrites says:

    This is a great picture for a Fictioneers prompt, Jan – so many ways it could go. I love your metaphor and the haiku you created from it too.

  3. vbholmes says:

    A lovely, optimistic haiku for a great photo and prompt. Interesting how many takes were on the negative side when I’m sure most people associate the alleyways of the Greek isles with happy times.

  4. unspywriter says:

    This was a great photo; very evocative. And, as always, your haiku is so apt.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/disharmony/

  5. Parul says:

    Beautiful haiku Jan. And a very stimulating prompt this week. Thanks.

  6. Short and powerful. Awesome job.

  7. Sandra says:

    Beautiful; and thank you for an inspiring prompt this week.

  8. Nice haiku, and a good fit for the image!

  9. beccaaudra says:

    Such a positive interpretation when so many of the stories have gone for thieving, claustrophobia, getting lost….nice to come back to the original feeling behind the shot. My piece is pretty strange, but I had a strange time when I was in Crete!

  10. I love that! And it is a marvelous picture, as well.

  11. I loved the picture and it took me back to the 70’s when I was also in Mykonos. It’s beautiful.

  12. Hi Jan,
    The door and the sky are both blue. Inspiring words! Thanks for providing a beautiful photo and for satisyig my curiosity about where it was taken. Have fun in Texas and try not to get executed! Ron

  13. Lora says:

    Short and sweet. Thanks for the interesting photo, Jan.

  14. Great photo and lovely haiku. You have a knack for telling a story in a few syllables. Are you familiar with Polly Swafford? She writes wonderful haiku also and is a dear lady.

  15. rich says:

    positive and uplifting. well done.

  16. tedstrutz says:

    Nicely put. Beautiful photo, Jan.

    And here, I thought you just went to a Dude Ranch.

  17. brudberg says:

    Thanks for picture and lovely words. I thought it had to Greece…

  18. Uplifting, simple and perfect for the prompt! Well done.

  19. rgayer55 says:

    sounds like scripture, Jan. Thanks for letting us use your photo and I hope you had a great time in Texas. I’m looking forward to that story too.

Leave a Reply

