#FridayFictioneers #FlashFiction: Passages

I have to admit I almost skipped the Fictioneers this week. For one, this weekend is the quarterly meeting of Ozarks Writers League, and I have a ton of stuff to do before I leave later this morning. But, I’ll admit, mostly it’s because when I first looked at the photo prompt by Fictioneer Lura Helms, I couldn’t think of anything — not one single thing — to write about.

But, I chastised my muse. “Let your creativity flow!”

Finally, it did. Even before my first sip of coffee! So, thank you Lura, for kicking my muse in the butt this week. 🙂

And Madison Woods, we miss you!

Click here to read other Fictioneers’ creativity.

Photo by Lura Helms

Passage

          Elizabeth looked up, shading her eyes from sunlight glinting between the leaves. “Can’t believe that’s all that’s left of our secret place.”

          Kathryn nodded. “Remember when we stole the boys’ ball caps from their fort and ran away?” She chuckled, snorted. “Have to admit.  I liked it when they chased us. Nothing funnier than looking down at them shaking their fists after we hung their caps off old T-Bone’s horns.” She patted Elizabeth’s hand. “Time flies, doesn’t it Lizzie?”

          “Only when you’re having fun, Katie. Only when you’re having fun.” She grabbed the handles of Kathryn’s wheelchair with knotted hands and pushed.

This entry was posted in fictioneers, Flash Fiction, Madison Woods, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to #FridayFictioneers #FlashFiction: Passages

  1. This so very sweet. Lifetime friends reminiscing,

  2. rochellewisoff says:

    Oh. That last line took my breath away, Jan. Bravo! Applause. See you in a few hours.
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot.com/2012/08/casualty-of-war.html

  3. Sandra says:

    Excellent last line, setting the context really effectively.

  4. keliwright says:

    Very nice. The last paragraph changes the whole thing–I love that!

    And isn’t it great when we get to kick our muses instead of them kicking us? Glad you took the time to post. See you at OWL!

  5. vbholmes says:

    Like the fact that Kathryn is the upbeat one, Good story showing the importance of attitude.

  6. Janet says:

    So heartwarming to see a friendship that stood the test of time. Here’s mine: http://postcardfiction.com/2012/08/17/discovered/

  7. Very effective story. I felt bad for Lizzie because it sounded to me as though she wasn’t having fun even though Katie was and despite the fact that she wasn’t the one in a wheelchair. Perhaps she’d become the caregiver and felt put-upon. Or to flip it around….maybe she was saying that time went quickly because they WERE having fun. It could go either way.

  8. billgncs says:

    very nice, I am glad they had those memories

  9. A fine story of enduring friendship though I must admit that at first I thought Lizzie was pushign her friend to her death!! Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/fridayfictioneers-the-withered-flower/

  10. 8teen39 says:

    “She chuckled, snorted.” Glad to hear someone else besides me snorts. I loved this. Like you, I was going to skip this week when I saw the photo. I couldn’t come up with one idea. I had to read a few others before my muse suckered punched me. Mine is nothing like yours, which is what I really like about these prompts. So many different takes. Yours is exceptional. Thank you!

  11. glossarch says:

    Those ending words are definitely bittersweet. I like this reminiscing and it’s an unexpected take on the prompt. I got a kick out of the way they mention the cow skull without providing any explanation or commentary on why it’s up there in the first place!

    Here’s mine:
    http://glossarch.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/the-towers-friday-fictioneers/

  12. Hi Jan: Tks for taking those few moments to enter your sweet, charming story before taking off for the Ozarks League. I envy you close knit writer’s from the Ozark area…you all seem to have so much fun. I wish I were there with you. I know Rochelle is on her way and perhaps Beth? Let’s hear all about it when you get back.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      We had a great time, Lora. It may be “getting away” for the weekend, but it’s also “coming home,” getting to be with writers who support and motivate each other. I hope you can join us someday! I’d love to meet you!

  13. Russell says:

    Talk about time travel–from eight to eighty in less than 60 seconds. I’m feeling older by the minute. Very poignant story, extremely well written.

  14. ruth says:

    Your muse did you proud. In 100 words you sparked emotions that touched the heart and brought the sting of tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

