#FlashFriday #Fictioneers: Devolution

When I first saw this week’s photo prompt by Madison Woods, I thought “Gross!” But when I read that it was the result of vertical cutters leaving behind “an oozing, bleeding contingency of trees, vines and shrubs,” I felt sad. The next word that popped into my head was “mush.”

To read the wide and wild variety of stories by the Fictioneers, click here.

I look forward to reading your comments. If you’re a Fictioneer, feel free to leave a link to your story.

My Flash Fiction:

Devolution

“Any questions?” asked the teacher.

The students gawked at the photo. Some turned away in disgust. Several held their hands high, ready to come out of their seats with questions.

Finally, someone in the back of the room called out. “What would cause a brain to turn to mush?”

“Excellent question,” the teacher began. “Some say deterioration began with what they called the boob tube. Others say it was technology—computers, cell phones. That led to social media. Me? I think the beginning of the end came when group think became the ideal, somewhere in the early 2000’s, when holding a differing opinion became forbidden.”

This entry was posted in fictioneers, Flash Fiction, Madison Woods and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to #FlashFriday #Fictioneers: Devolution

  1. oldentimes says:

    In all likelihood you arae correct. Very goo take on the prompt.

  2. unspywriter says:

    Nice twist to the story–I say as I use social media. 😉

  3. You made a very strong point in very few words, Jan. Excellent! 🙂

  4. TheOthers1 says:

    Oh true. Wise teacher that one. 🙂

    My attempt: http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/test-subject/

  5. Russell says:

    Very profound, Jan. I think it started with all this BS about being “politically correct” – which is basically the same as denying individual opinions. I don’t know if you’ve ever visited Happy Woman Magazine on the web. Their slogan is; “We think so you don’t have to.”
    It’s great satire 🙂

    Thanks for visiting & commenting on mine.
    http://russellgayer.blogspot.com/

  6. Loved your message Jan – and I think you’re right!! Very nice take on the prompt. I have been very impressed with all the quality stories we’ve had this week 🙂

  7. Mike says:

    A great take on the prompt Jan.
    The worrying thing is how much of your story might actually be true.

  8. Sandra says:

    A great piece with an underlying message we can identify with. Nice one.

  9. TheOthers1 says:

    So I was positive I commented your story, but apparently my comment disappeared into the ether. An astute observation by that teacher. Very true indeed. We are interesting people that way though; demanding fairness, but not good at extending it to others. Nice work.

  10. Hi Jan,
    Actually, it was twitter. Fun take on a challenging photo prompt. Your brain still seems to be in top form.
    Ron

  11. elmowrites says:

    Social commentary always seems to be a favourite with the Fictioneers – I’m surprised we haven’t seen so much of it this time, and I’m glad you’ve kept the count up! I’m intrigued by who your characters are and whether this story is going to get any bigger.

    I’m over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/friday-fiction-torment/

  12. ruth weeks says:

    Good one, Jan!

  13. I love this story! Excellent point! Great way to set the story in the future, looking back at our present as if it were distant past. I definitely have opinions that differ from mainstream, so I can relate.

    http://ebooksscifi.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/grounded-by-ilyan-kei-lavanway-for-madison-woods-friday-fictineers-100-word-flash-fiction/

  14. billgncs says:

    a bold statement! loved it

  15. rochellewisoff says:

    A marvelous commentary in story form. Well done! Thanks for commenting on mine.
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot.com/2012/08/wild-life.html

  16. Jack LaBloom says:

    And to think parents used to limit the amount of TV their kids could watch. A lot of good that did. I bet a bunch of kids, who watched too much TV, probably grew up and invented cell phones, iPads, and social media. No telling what’s in store for the next generation. Maybe some kid will grow up to explode individual thought, and decide it’s the next great brain implant device.

  17. janet says:

    Jan, excellent job and a unique take. You might enjoy “The Winter of Our Disconnect” and “Hamlet’s Blackberry”, both discussing the use of technology and social media.

Leave a Reply

