Monday Morning Mashup: 7/16/12

MASH-UP
A creative combination
or mixing of content
from different sources.

Happy Monday! I had a wonderful weekend in Dallas, spending time with my daughter Andi, my son, Adam and his wife, Emily. We celebrated the 30th birthdays of Andi and my nephew, Tee. So hard to believe it’s been thirty years since I became a mom. It’s nice after a weekend like this, to realize, empty nest or not, I’ll always be a mom.

So, before I head back to my empty nest, here’s this week’s mashup. I’d love to read your comments!

# # #

Sierra Godfrey gives us a list of tips to make our websites more user-friendly in her post, “6 Tips for a Friendly Author Website.” I’ll give you a hint — Ms. Godfrey gives you a bonus tip. All are excellent, as are her comments. It all reminded me that I need to give my website a tune-up. How about you?

http://sierragodfrey.blogspot.com/2012/07/6-tips-for-friendly-author-website.html

# # #

I am social network challenged. That is not to say, I have a hard time with social networking. My challenge is staying AWAY from social networking. For that reason, I have avoided Goodreads. But, after reading Tonya Kappes‘ blog post, “Master Goodreads,” I am further convinced of its value. So, this week, I have dipped my toe in the Goodread waters, and will little-by-little take a swim.  You can find me on Goodreads as Jan Morrill. I’m still familiarizing myself with the Goodreads world — any suggestions?

http://tonyakappes.blogspot.com/2012/07/master-goodreads.html

# # #

An excellent resource for posts helpful to writers is the Facebook page for Bublish. Bublish is a website that links writers and readers. I have “liked” the Bublish page on Facebook, and that is where I found this YouTube video, “Book Publicity and Marketing: Publicity and Marketing Directors of Algonquin Books.” Though long, the video interview contains some useful and interesting information on marketing.

# # #

QUOTE OF THE WEEK:
“Wisdom tends to grow
in proportion to one’s awareness
 of one’s ignorance.”
                                    ― Anthony de Mello

# # #

I’d love to read your comments! If you like the information in this mashup and would like to receive email notifications of new blog posts, please click “FOLLOW BLOG BY EMAIL” at the top of the column on the right.

Thank you!

This entry was posted in mashup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday Morning Mashup: 7/16/12

  1. Thanks Jan! I was just having a conversation about Goodreads with KD yesterday and she wondered how to get her book listed there. I had no clue. Now I can direct her here to your timely and informative blog. I have recently become involved with the Goodreads crowd, as an author and a reader. I’m trying to engage in conversations in the groups that interest me as a reader, in the hope that some of the other readers will find me via the subliminal brain control messages I’m giving off while trying to mingle as a reader 😉 Really, though, if I want to attract readers I guess I have to learn to think like a reader again.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Madison, you and I are on the same path to try to attract not only writers, but READERS. If only I had extra hours to devote to really getting into Goodreads. As it is, I’m trying to squeeze in a few minutes here and there, and none of those are without interruption. 🙂

      • I’ve found that LinkedIn is a great place to talk ‘business’ of writing. I’m getting great feedback from other writers on questions I might have. I’ve been choosing the groups I participate in more carefully and avoiding the ones that degrade to much off-topic chit-chat. Everywhere else (blog and facebook page) I’m going to start talking ‘pleasure’ of reading. At least that’s the plan, lol. It’s going to take me a while to get it straight, I’m sure.

  2. Thanks for the kind shout-out, Jan! I appreciate it. That post has really gotten a lot of attention so I’m thinking I should do a lot more of them.

Leave a Reply

