#FlashFriday #Fictioneers: The Ugly One

Madison Woods‘ photo prompt inspired all kinds of stories in my brain this morning — everything from comedy to horror. So, I’m especially looking forward to reading the variety of stories posted by the Fictioneers.

If you’d like to read them, click here.

The Ugly One

I’m so ugly. Revulsion secretes at the mere mention of my name. Vulture. And now, it is used as a vile metaphor to describe a politician, the most abhorrent of creatures—the vulture capitalist. I should sue for defamation of character. Alas, character is all that I have.

I shan’t ever hope to grow into the beauty of my distant relative, the Ugly Duckling. Or rise to poetic stardom as did the Raven.

Still, I consider my blessings each time a car unsuccessfully swerves to miss my next meal. Imagine a swan pecking away at road kill. Nevermore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to #FlashFriday #Fictioneers: The Ugly One

  1. Haha! You captured buzzard angst perfectly Jan. I’ve always quietly pulled for the vultures. Their job is important and their beauty well-hidden. They don’t get much respect.

  2. Beth Carter says:

    Great job. I, too, was thinking Poe and the raven. Ha! I must write one this week.

  3. ron pruitt says:

    Hi Jan,
    I had no idea buzzards were such deep thinkers. I like them. Great voice. And you create a dark, gallows humor for a fine finish.

  4. Kris Kennedy says:

    Vultures and buzzards are very powerful creatures…they eat up the dead…I liked the direction of your write

  5. Jess Schira says:

    I love your story and the nice little homage you’ve paid to vultures. I inherited a love of watching vultures (we get a lot of turkey vultures sailing over the fields) from my dad, he always thought they looked like they got more love from flying than any other kind of bird. I also like your shout out to Poe. I thought of the Raven as soon as I saw this week’s prompt.
    http://whimsicalquestsofacuriousmind.blogspot.com/2012/07/friday-fictioneers-71312-round-2.html

  6. billgncs says:

    nicely done, a good read

  7. Haha…vulture politicians..Amen!!! Entire piece well written.

  8. rgayer55 says:

    I love that you tied them to politicians, although I agree that they would be offended since politicians are actually a form lower than whale poop. Nice one, Jan.
    Mine’s here
    http://russellgayer.blogspot.com/

  9. Sandra says:

    Truly original take on the prompt. With some beautifully positioned side-swipes! 🙂

    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/every-cloud-friday-fictioneers-july-2012/

  10. unspywriter says:

    The buzzard’s right–time to sue when you become a nickname for a politician. 😉 Nice imagery, and I loved the concept of imagining the swan downing roadkill. Good job.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/aftertherapture/

  11. glossarch says:

    Glad to see another vulture point of view story (another poster did a nice one further down on the comment list). I particularly enjoy the image of a swan picking at roadkill.

    Here’s mine:
    http://glossarch.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/the-silence-friday-fictioneers/

  12. A buzzard with a conscience of sorts, fun and compelling reading, I like it.
    http://wp.me/s1nUrn-buzzard

  13. rochellewisoff says:

    There are a lot of cerebral vultures this week. Not to mention a lot of Hitchcock and Poe homage. Loved yours, Jan. You never disappoint.
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot.com/2012/07/arson.html

  14. oldentimes says:

    Well said! The clean up crew, what would we do without these unsung heros?

  15. JKBradley says:

    Nevermore Indeed. I liked. Thanks.

  16. A Vultures Life Is Not Easy
    Just imagine yourself born a vulture. Your mother brings you yucky food. Sometimes it is dried like jerky, because mom had to travel a long way to find it.
    Then she teaches you to wait until something dies then clean it to the bones.
    We fly around in circles above the victim watching it’s agony of death, but can’t feel sorry for it because it is our food. Mother tells us God made us to keep his
    land cleaned. But we know people hate us. Other vultures are competive over food and some are bullies. Mother says, “be kind.” Hard.

    I am having a problem posting on my site. Hope this is ok.
    Jan Gallagher

Leave a Reply

