Monday Morning Mashup: 6/4/2012

MASH-UP
creative combination
or mixing of content
from different sources.


Hurray for rain this morning! The last few weeks have been so dry that I get thirsty just looking at brown pastures, empty ponds and wilting flowers. When I woke to the sound of rain on the roof–not a pitter patter, but a constant rumbling–I was grateful for every little drop.

This morning’s mashup is a pitter-pattering of both the writing process and marketing. It seems many new writers believe a novel must be complete before marketing begins. I used to think that, too, until I began to learn all that is involved in the necessary self-promotion authors must perform these days. It takes years to build your platform. It is not a tree that suddenly appears one day. Instead, it begins with a seed that is planted and nurtured over a long period of time.

**********

Wordserve Water Cooler

On the blog site, Wordserve Water Cooler, author Janalyn Voigt posts the article, “How to Plot by the Numbers.” I’ve always considered myself a “seat-of-the-pants” writer, as opposed to a “plotter.” That’s kind of surprising to me, because I tend to plan everything in my real life. I wonder why that’s not the case with my fictional lives? Anyway, now, as I begin to suffer with M.I.D.D. (Midlife Immersion Deficit Disorder) distractions in my life take me so far off my writerly path it takes an hour just to find my way back again. So, “seat-of-the-pants” isn’t working so well anymore. While in William Bernhardt‘s workshop recently, I worked on an outline of my sequel. I’ll admit I was a bit reluctant at first, since I didn’t consider myself a plotter. But in the end, I found it was very motivating to see my plot laid out in an organized manner. Now, I plan to implement the outline into Ms. Voigt’s calendar, and I look forward to seeing if I’ll be more productive.

http://wordservewatercooler.com/2012/05/25/how-to-plot-by-the-numbers/

**********

Joanna Penn

 

Until I read the post by Joanna Penn on her blog, The Creative Penn, I hadn’t given much consideration to a professional headshot. In her post, “Demonstrate Your Author Brand with a Professional Headshot,” Ms. Penn gives practical advice, particularly her suggestion to “get over yourself.” This is necessary, because as she says (and I agree,) it’s human nature for us to hate the way we look in photographs. Still, it’s an important component of every author’s platform.

http://www.thecreativepenn.com/2012/05/28/author-headshot/

 **********

On the blog site, Author Media, Hannah Hill posts the article, “What Every Author Needs to Know About Search Engine Optimization.” Admittedly, some of this is still like a foreign language to me and I need to do further research. However, I was also reassured to see that I have already taken some of the listed steps to search engine optimization, though there are still others to take, which means more distractions, which is another reason I’m glad I’m going to try to morph into a plotter instead of a seat-of-the-pantser.

http://www.authormedia.com/2012/05/24/what-every-author-needs-to-know-about-search-engine-optimization/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+AuthorTechTips+(Author+Media+Blog)&utm_content=Google+Reader

**********


QUOTE OF THE WEEK:
At first dreams
seem impossible,
then improbable,
then inevitable.
                                                       —Christopher Reeve
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Morning Mashup: 6/4/2012

  1. Jack LaBloom says:

    Thanks, Jan. Your Monday Morning Mashup always offers great links to helpful information.

    I’ll try plotting out my stories in advance and see how that motivates me to finish writing the stories quicker. Since I keep having to go back and change stuff earlier in the story so it fits with what I come up with later on, plotting out a few things ahead of time would probably reduce a lot of my rewriting.

    I’ll break down and get a headshot photo of myself when I create my author page. That photo of a flower only can take me so far. I’m sure a headshot will propel my writing career right over the edge.

    I plan to switch over to WordPress to do my author stuff, so the search engine info is timely for me.

  2. rgayer55 says:

    Like you, I tend to plan and organize my work in every aspect of life except writing. People have different opinions on plotting. If it’s effective–go for it. If not, don’t feel like less of a writer.

    I had to chuckle when reading Jack LaBloom’s comment about the headshot. He’s pretty close to the edge now 🙂

    • janmorrill says:

      Russell, isn’t that funny that our writing life doesn’t follow the other apsects of our lives? I’m going to give it a try though, as soon as I can get organized enough in the other areas of my life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

