Monday Morning Mashup: May 28, 2012

MASH-UP
creative combination
or mixing of content
from different sources.

I hope you’re enjoying this Memorial Day holiday as much I as am. Many times, I’ve thought about those who gave their lives for this country and those loved ones who have been left behind. This morning on Facebook, our mayor, Lioneld Jordan, posted a beautiful poem by John A. Logan:

If other eyes grow dull, other hands slack,
and other hearts cold in the solemn trust,
ours shall keep it well as long
as the light and warmth of life remain to us.
Let us, then, at the time appointed gather
around their sacred remains and
garland the passionless mounds above them
with the choicest flowers of spring-time;
let us raise above them the dear old flag
they saved from dishonor.”

# # #

I’m often confused about the publishing industry. Who are “The Big Six?”  What are small presses, indie presses, micro presses? What’s P.O.D.? Vanity publishing? Anne R. Allen’s excellent blog post provides the answers to these questions and more. Thank you Anne!

http://annerallen.blogspot.com/2012/05/who-are-big-six-what-does-indie-really.html?spref=tw&m=1

# # #

 

We authors sometimes walk around with our head in the clouds and stars in our eyes. In her post, “Ten Blunders Guaranteed to Crush Your Publishing Efforts — Part 1,” Judith Briles brings us back to earth. Game plan, game plan, game plan. I’d better work on mine.  And here’s Part 2. “Savvy authors routinely give away hundreds of copies.” Good information that I did not know.

http://showmeaboutbookpublishing.wordpress.com/

# # #

 

As I consider asking for reviews and endorsements for my book, I found this helpful post on Wise Ink, “The 5 Principles to Book Reviews and Endorsements.” After reading it, I’ll be googling historical fiction publications, bloggers, authors and groups. There are also several excellent related articles listed below this article.

# # #

 


QUOTE OF THE WEEK:
Stay tuned for
big news
tomorrow!
                      —Jan Morrill
This entry was posted in mashup, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Morning Mashup: May 28, 2012

  1. Madison Woods says:

    I especially like you “Quote of the Week” and I hope you’re not teasing 😉 Thanks for some great sources of information. I’ll be checking them out today. Happy Memorial day to you and all your friends and family members who have made ultimate sacrifices on my behalf.

  2. annerallen says:

    Thanks so much for the shout-out! I’m glad you found the post useful.

  3. Bonnie K. Tesh says:

    Oh, I hope, I hope, I hope…

Leave a Reply

