DEADLINE!!

I don’t know if it’s a characteristic I despise or appreciate, but I work best under pressure. Tomorrow (August 27) is the deadline for contest entries for Ozark Creative Writers Contest, held in Eureka Springs in October. September 1 is the deadline for the Ozarks Writers League Contest, held in Branson in November. Have I done a single thing to prepare my submissions?
NO!!
Will I get my submissions sent off in time?
YES!!
Why? Because I work best under pressure. I need a deadline to be motivated, and though I’m not sure that’s a good trait for a writer, it has always worked for me in the past. Something about a deadline and the adrenaline it kicks in gives me more energy and makes me think more clearly.
Maybe it’s because I have an excuse to be in front of my computer for hours at a time rather than doing other things life throws at me. Maybe it’s because I have a competitive spirit that makes me think I can compete with time itself.
I’m not sure of the reason. All I know is, it’s time to get busy! So why am I blogging?
This entry was posted in Ozark Creative Writers, Ozarks Writers League, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to DEADLINE!!

  1. Beth says:

    I'm the same way! I blame it on my marketing days when I had constant deadlines.

  2. Beth says:

    And why am I on fb?

  3. Jan Morrill says:

    @Beth – I know! As I sweat bullets preparing my submissions, I keep checking blog, email and FB. Glad I'm not the only one!

  4. Beth says:

    Is there a fee to enter? I couldn't find one.

  5. Jan Morrill says:

    @Beth, for Ozark Creative Writers, the contest fee is included in the $99 conference registration fee. (After tomorrow, the conference fee goes up to $119). For Ozarks Writers League, you must be a member, but the contest fee is only $10 for all entries. Hope that helps.

  6. Regina says:

    I have faith in you, Jan! You'll get it done.

  7. Jack LaBloom says:

    You'll make it, Jan. Look at all the time you have. As long as it's postmarked the 27th. That's what I keep telling myself as I try to come up with one more story to enter. Good luck on all your entries. I hope we can send in our registration and check along with our entries. That is what I was hoping to do. One place on the web site it says we can and one place it says not to send registration to contest address.

  8. Jan Morrill says:

    @Regina – thanks! So far I have five entries, but I'm like @Jack LaBloom – still looking for more! :)@Jack LaBloom, I think the registration goes to P.O. Box 424, Eureka Springs, AR 72632. The contest entries go to Dusty at P.O. Box 6460, Springdale, AR 72766. Good luck!

  9. Beth says:

    Thanks for the info. Didn't get any writing done today but will hit it tomorrow.

  10. Beth says:

    P.S. Can't wait to meet all of you at this conference.

Leave a Reply

